top of page

A Grateful Heart - November 18, 2021


Today, the Tommy Bahama beach chair loses a star off my five star rating. Yesterday, when I was ready to leave the beach, try as I might, I could not get the chair to fold up. It’s too bad there was not a soul on the beach and most of the units here are vacant or someone would have gotten a good belly laugh watching me. I turned it sideways, I flipped it upside down, I threw in on the sand. I brought it to a dune to avoid bending over, but to no avail. I gave my final show by dragging it across the sand, then carried it fully open all the way back to my place. Tommy B, you have disappointed me. But here I am, back again on the beach, sitting in my chair.


I continue to be stunned by the lack of people on this stretch of beach. They say visibility is nine miles today and as I look up and down the beach, all I see is one woman walking her dog. I previously thought it deserted because it’s a weekday and people are working, but that theory was quickly put to bed. Paul and I sat out last Sunday and it felt like a population explosion seeing eight people.


I can’t help comparing this to going to Hampton Beach, NH or any New England beach where you have to arrive before 9:00 am to secure a parking spot, wade through a sea of humanity and beach umbrellas to find an open area to lay down your beach towel. Good luck navigating to the water. New Englanders would give up Patriots tickets for a beach like this.


Do the residents here take it for granted? Perhaps they can, due to the mere fact there are so many miles of coastline. No big deal to get on the beach. No concern about arriving too late to the parking lot near the beach and having to pay $50 a day to park in some lot on a side street and walk a half mile to the sand.


It got me wondering what I take for granted. Often we only realize what we take for granted until we don’t have it. Before some of my chronic pain issues surfaced I couldn’t imagine being grateful at the absence of pain when I sit or sleep or just stand on my feet. I assumed these basic things would always be fine. I have a family member who has a neurological condition when flared, prevents her from talking. She is grateful when she is able to have a conversation with someone and has remarked she will never take that for granted again. I am sure we all have friends or loved ones with afflictions and hurts that may feel the same way. There is so much suffering in the world. It’s just another reminder to me to never take anything for granted, even the most basic functions and needs.


“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable--if anything is excellent or praiseworthy--think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me--put it into practice.” – Philippians 4:8

There’s no doubt I could fill a notebook with all the ways I am blessed - all the ways God has been good to me. It’s my human nature that often focuses on all the things I can’t do. Today I make a vow to focus on all the things I CAN do, knowing they all may be temporary and could be gone in the blink of an eye.


“A grateful heart is a magnet for miracles” -anonymous

Today I pray for a grateful heart in all things, well maybe not the folding capability of my Tommy Bahama beach chair!




20 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page