top of page

Ain't It Good To Know, You've Got A Friend - February 15, 2022


My mother always said, “Women need women.” It’s so true. I bet if we polled 100 men and asked them how many close friends they have, their answers would be quite different than for women. I’m pretty sure you won’t find your brother, husband or son spending an hour or more talking to friends and family on the phone. If any men are reading this, forgive me, but you know it’s true. When they get together, they play golf, watch football or share a beer. While we women may share a beer, when we get together, we talk.


Yes, we sure can talk. And we know it. Friends are our lifeline, the ones we share our stories, our secrets and our troubles with. We do it over pizza, over wine, on the beach, in the front yard, on the phone, at each other’s homes or wherever and whenever we can.


I’ve been fortunate in my life to have such friends. This past weekend I got together with two remarkable women. We met when our sons were in grammar school and we have kept our friendship strong for all these years. They arrived at my home with all the fixings for a great lunch. We told stories about children and grandchildren and shared laughter and a big plate of nachos with melted cheese. We listened with our hearts to each other’s challenges and offered support and encouragement. When we finally looked at the clock at 6:30pm, we couldn’t believe where the time had gone. And isn’t that the best kind of day? My husband had been out, and when he returned, was happy to see they were still here and that we had so much fun. However, I know he continues to be perplexed at what we could possibly have talked about for all those hours!


“I give thanks for the loving companionship for friends who have been with me on my path. Happiness is in the sharing of life.” -Amrita

Today I cherish my friends even more. I received news last night of the passing of a sorority sister. It was very, very sad news, yet I was amazed at how fast the “text chain” of the sisters went into action. Many messages flew around all evening and into today. The prayers that were offered, the questions about how to help, the love expressed for each other. Sororities sometimes get a bad rap, but I must say, that joining Sigma Kappa in 1976 was one of the best decisions I ever made. The bond is just as strong as it was then, if not stronger. These are women who I can count on, who are always there, no matter how much time has passed. We’ve shared a lifetime of fun, and tears and sisterhood. I’ve been blessed by these women, over and over. When we lose one of us, we need each other even more. And I become more grateful each day for all the women friends in my life.

“And if you threw a party,
Invited everyone you knew,
Well, you would see the biggest gift would be from me
And the card attached would say,
Thank you for being a friend."
-Andrew Gold

Today, my heart is full of thanks for all my wonderful friends, the ones who passed on and the ones who are here. As one of the sisters said recently, “You have to treasure each day. Our amazing friend lived life to the fullest and I will hold her mantra close to my heart.”


Here’s to all our “besties!” May we tell them as often as we can, “Thank you for being a friend.”



8 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page