top of page

Ain't No Sunshine - January 3, 2022

As the plane approached the landing strip at Logan Airport, I could feel the heaviness of this gray world overtake me. Gray sky, gray trees, gray, gray, gray. Just that morning I was basking in the 78-degree sunshine on my deck as I prepared to leave. This grayness is really an assault to my senses. I never realized how dark it is in New England this time of year. I guess on some level I knew it, which is why winter and I never got along. But after being in the Sunshine State for three months, it was hard to reconcile the absence of color. My eyes had to let go of seeing blue sky, aquamarine sea, orange sunrises, yellow sun, and yes, even rainbows in the sky. I’ve been back for more than 4 days, and I haven’t seen the sun yet.


I admit it was nice to be back in my home. My own bed. My heated towel rack and my warming blanket. Plus, it was nice to have all the space back – our house being more than double the size of the condo. Although, space is overrated when you don’t have an ocean to look at! One of the great lessons I learned being in a condo – I can live with much less stuff than I thought I could. Though I don’t consider I have a lot of stuff, I have more than I want to. More stuff equals more stress. That was evident to me while away. I didn’t have much to take care of and it was truly freeing. Add reducing “stuff” to my New Year’s Resolution list.


So not only is it gray out, it’s dark! Why have I not noticed this before? The morning after I returned, I had the lights on inside until 10:00am. Then around 3:30pm, I had to turn them back on again. I feel like I’m living through winter months in Iceland where they get 4-5 hours of sunlight a day. I made sure I got out for a short walk today just to breathe in some fresh air. I didn’t see a soul. And I’m really wishing I could talk to my Florida dog owner neighbors and my beach walking friends. There was always someone to chat with. This is day five and I’m already feeling isolated and confined. There’s a big blue life down south and I feel like I’m missing out.


One of the best things about taking chances and making changes is that very often, you change yourself. My perspective has changed. And my life has been changed by this trip. I found something I really like. Now the question is, what will I do? Well, since God brought me down there, I have faith He will show me what’s next. We signed up for the same three months next year. We are considering staying longer but must wait until the current renters decide if they will be taking the January through April time frame next year. We will know in a few weeks.


"Never assume you are stuck with the way things are right now. You aren’t. Life changes every single moment and so can you." - anonymous

Until then, I am getting re-acclimated to things around here. I put in a load of clothes only to see an error message – oh yeah, I turned the water supply off before I left and must turn it back on. My dishwasher is broken so back to hand washing dishes. And the thermostats. Having to turn the heat (way up!) and monitor the settings. Fortunately, my body has been better coming home than leaving. Praise God. That has been a welcome surprise.



Seriously, all kidding aside, I am grateful to have such a nice house to come home to. Grateful for the opportunity to go back to the beach next year and grateful we have been protected from getting Covid. Blessed my body isn’t mega flared and blessed for faith, family, and food to eat. It’s all by the grace of God.


“…Sing, so the back row hears you Glide 'cause walkin' just won't do Dance, you don't have to know how to Ever since, ever since Grace got you Laugh, 'til your whole side's hurtin' Smile like you just got away with somethin', why? 'Cause you just got away with somethin' Ever since, ever since Grace got you
-Lyrics from “Grace Got You” by MecryMe
So I will rely on God's grace to get me through these long winter months. It has before and it will again. And maybe as the song says, I'll sing, I'll dance, and I'll glide right through.




9 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page