top of page

Chasing Sunsets - January 5, 2024

“I haven’t seen decent sunset since I arrived here on Dec. 6!”  Now let me remind you, I’m certain I’ve taken hundreds of pictures of sunsets, yet I still chase them.  The other night, I saw the sky turn a fuchsia pink and was mad I didn’t drive to a good spot to catch it on film.  So, the next night I dragged my husband down to the pier overlooking St. Augustine, my camera around my neck, certain that this sunset would be astonishing.  Well, that is not what happened.  This sunset barely garnered a look from the pelican who was perched on the railing.  Other stragglers walking by were more into their phone than the sky.

 


There have been a few sunsets that have almost made me gasp, they were so beautiful.  It’s as if God stuck his hand in Benjamin Moore Coral Reef, then splattered some Lemon Meringue and finally tossed in a little Pure Pink.  This one was hanging onto a flimsy strip of muted cream, nestled next to sad gray cloud. I tried to see the beauty there, for each night, God puts his unique signature on the day.

 

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands.” -Psalm 19:1

 

Seeing my disappointment, my husband said, “Why do you think that every sunset will be better than one you’ve already seen?” He clearly does not understand the mind of a photographer.  He may secretly wish he never gave me the Canon Rebel so many years ago for Christmas.

 

I don’t only chase sunsets.  I chase the next best photo.

 

I guess in a way, everyone is chasing something, success, relationships, better health, dreams. The next great vacation, a simpler way of life, or maybe just a little peace and quiet.  All of these things are worth pursuit.  But the word “chasing” somehow gave me pause.  I am certainly pursing a few of the above-mentioned things, but how much am I pursuing God? Do I seek Him with the same fervor and excitement?  Am I passionately moved to open my Bible or read my daily devotions?  Or have they just become a part of a spiritless routine?  I know on days I need God most, the ones where I am suffering, the urge to pursue Him is powerful.  What about the other days, the ones that slowly meander through the calendar with little fanfare or pain?

 

When I ponder a beautiful sunset, I am aware of the beauty of God’s awe-inspiring work.  We get a mere glimpse of it as the great ball sets, but sunsets don’t live long.  If you are not paying attention, the orb gently slips over the horizon in mere seconds. 

 

What does live long is God’s enduring love.  His companionship.  His promises to never leave us.  His comfort, His strength, His very being. 

 

“Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.” Genesis 28:15

 

 Today I am reminded that it’s okay to keep chasing that elusive, jaw dropping, spine-tingling sunset.  May I chase my relationship with the Creator of the Universe, my savior and Lord with a new and improved passion, for this is a relationship that will live forever. And that’s the most jaw-dropping of all.

12 views

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page