top of page

Dolphin Tales - February 9, 2023


This is Betty White and me in the picture. No, not Betty White, the Golden Girls actress we recently lost, God rest her soul. This is Betty the dolphin. They call her Betty White because she has a white spot behind her dorsal fin. Betty is 50 plus years young and lives at Marineland in St. Augustine, Florida with 13 other dolphins. I had the chance to meet her up close and personal yesterday. Not only did I get to touch her nose, but I also had the distinct pleasure of massaging her flukes (tail.) When we asked our trainer if Betty liked this, she said, “Look at her, just lying in the water, chilling. What do you think?” I’m going to go with a “yes.”


I thank God for allowing me to go on this adventure, one I wouldn’t have been able to do, even last year. Yes, I was armed with my pain patches, meds and various assistive devices, which made it all work. After a 45-minute car ride, we arrived at 10:00am at the compound next to the awe inspiring and expansive view of the wild Atlantic. We proceeded to spend three and a half hours walking around the compound, listening to educational talks, meeting fellow dolphins Shaka, Zac and Dazzle and taking pictures of red footed tortoises Blossom, Herbie and Toby. A huge accomplishment for me!


Eighteen years ago (wow, has it been that long?), we were lucky enough to swim with dolphins on the Caribbean Island of Anguilla. That dolphin was Jo-Jo and she gave me the ride of a lifetime. I never thought I would get up close and personal with a dolphin again. It’s not just the actual meet and greet, it’s everything it takes to get there and be present for it. This amount of preparation and driving can make most of us chronic illness sufferers say, “Just forget it. No can do.”

I believe God puts dreams in our hearts, whether it’s meeting dolphins, going to Paris or just making it to the grocery store on our own. Maybe we just want to be out of pain or get to our job every day. No matter. God helps us conquer our challenges. He never leaves us alone to fend for ourselves. He helps us accomplish things that seem impossible.


“You can’t run through a troop of hundreds of soldiers like David, or leap over city walls on your own. God will never let you face a challenge that you can’t overcome.” -Joel Osteen


Our day included viewing the feeding of sand tiger sharks Hunter, Merlin and Niemi, meeting a fifty-pound rescue turtle named Rocky and seeing a giant chartreuse moray eel (yikes!) The dolphin show was a highlight as we watched “Lightning” and “Miramar”, swirl, jump, wave and fly through the air. I don’t know about you but there’s just something about the power and grace of these beautiful creatures that stirs my soul and makes me believe in miracles.



And yes, it was a miracle. Last year my 90 days at the beach did not include any kind of excursion of this magnitude. I’m moving forward, one step at a time. Taking chances, knowing I may pay a price, but grateful for the chance to keep living and making memories. We will have afflictions in life, what I’m learning is to not let them take over.


“Do not recoil from afflictions since they are among my most favored gifts. Trust me and do not be afraid for I am your Strength and Song.” -Jesus Calling by Sarah Young


May I see all my afflictions, joys and accomplishments as gifts from God. And thank you God, for the gift of Betty White! She and her “golden girl dolphins” are doing just fine on the north coast of Florida.





*For background on my health condition, (Central Sensitization Syndrome) see previous post on November 12, 2021, titled, "Three Years Ago Today." In addition to CSS, my diagnoses include Fibromyalgia, Hashimotos Thyroiditis, Severe spinal disk degeneration, bilateral hip replacement complications, small fiber neuropathy, Morton's Neuroma, Burning Mouth and Osteoporosis.


22 views

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page