top of page

First Milestone - One Month, October 30, 2021


It’s official. I’ve been here one month. A third of the way into our stay. I have mixed feelings. Sad that October is gone and has taken the sunny, 80’s with her. The month did not bring much of what I’d hoped, but gave me more than I asked. Despite not getting together with my friends yet, or seeing family as much as I would have liked, it was a beautiful month. I’m hopeful, as I still have 60 more days.


The hives have gotten worse and I don’t feel as I would like. Remembering that there’s an ocean out there, I got dressed, got my phone and headed out onto the beach. It’s low tide now and good for walking. I know this will help me feel better. As soon as I step outside I say “thank you” to God for allowing me this opportunity – to step outside on a late October day, sun shining, warm breezes blowing, and the beach, steps away. At home I could have dressed warmly and headed out into my neighborhood but it’s just not the same. Besides, I hear it’s rainy and cold.


A bunch of books I ordered online and had sent to Billy’s have come in. I decided to drive up to his place before his flight leaves to pick them up. And to see him. I’m getting used to the driving now. I’m amazed I’m able to tolerate what I’ve been doing. I chalk it up to how my symptoms move around a lot. So far, the mouth burning and foot pain, and now hives have been my major issues. If my back and bum are not screaming right now, I count it as a win.


My books are great. Before I came down here, I got lucky at our thrift shop and picked up a few previously owned books. One of them was called, “Better Than My Dreams” by Paula Rinehart. I thought it was a novel at first but when I read the first page, I saw that it was a spiritul book. While reading it I knew I was supposed to have this book. One of the pertinent questions she pauses, "Perhaps from time to time, it's not great expectations that afflict you-but hoping for too little. How does that happen in your life?" Bingo! I know that I have been in this place. I'm pretty sure it was being in this place that got me here to pack up my home and belongings for three months and to get to the beach in Florida. She goes on to say that there is danger in not hoping, not wanting, but just settling. Loss and "disturbing interruptions," as she calls them, can do that to you. She encourages her readers to have "wild hope."

"I know that you can do all things. No plan of yours can be thwarted." -Job 42:2

I immediately went on line after I finished it to search for other books by Paula. I found one plus a few other similar books so I ordered them all. I sincerely believe God is doing a work in me. This book seems to be stirring up something in me. Sometimes, an author writes in a way that feels like they wrote the book for you personally. This is how this book feels to me. It is challenging me to think differently, to question some of the things I've been telling myself. It's coaxing me to change thoughts that need changing. I feel myself taking steps on the road that brings me closer to Him. Maybe a physical change of place (the beach!) and the right book is just what it took.


On my drive home I stop at the Smoothie Café. I’ve had my eye on this place since we got here. Yes, a whole store for smoothies. It’s a smaller version of the one Billy took me to years ago when I came to visit. I marveled at it then as well as I do now. Oh, the choices! Bahama Mama, Beach Bum, Blimy Limey, Paradise Point. I settle on Magic Mango – a tantalizing blend of pineapple, mango and non-fat yogurt. Yum. I will be back to try the rest another day.


Late afternoon, we sat on the deck in the sunshine and watched the nesting turtles below. They each have their own “house,” a sandy dugout among the beach grass and shrubbery. We can see the large holes they crawl into when they’re not out sunning themselves on a sandy patch. Their nicknames are Shelly and Sheldon and they’ve been the topic of much discussion and are pretty good at posing for the camera.


17 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page