top of page

Florida Cowboy - November 20, 2021


Today, Billy’s brother Corey is running 40 miles on the beach, barefoot. In this his fifth year, he is raising funds and awareness for his friend, Elliot Smith, who is the youngest person to attempt the Golden Globe Race, a solo, non-stop sailing adventure that circumnavigates the planet. Corey is a songwriter and poet and calls this race the Florida Cowboy 40, and even has a stuffed horse mascot who is featured in all his marketing! Pretty cool. The race began just north of St. Augustine in Vilano Beach, through Ponte Vedra, Jax Beach and ended in Neptune Beach. Along the way, he ran directly on the beach by our condo. And we were there to cheer him on.


What really grabbed my attention, in addition to this incredible feat, was that Corey refers to this event as being a part of “Florida Man” energy. He describes it as “doing crazy, impossible things, just for the sake of doing them.” To his credit, this sentence has a lot more of a story behind it. His first attempt in 2017 was in his words, “a Hail Mary effort to combat depression.” I am struck by this young man’s bravery in attempting something “crazy, impossible” in hopes it may help him. Turns out it wasn’t so crazy. Even though the first year had some mishaps and the entire 40 miles was not achieved, that didn’t stop him from going for it again, and again. And now, he is using this not so impossible event to benefit someone else. A remarkable, inspiring achievement.

“You know all those things you’ve always wanted to do? You should go do them.” -anonymous

It got me thinking, what would I attempt to do, even if I thought it crazy, impossible? Anything that sounds crazy or impossible is something I probably wouldn’t normally attempt. One August day, two years ago, I did in fact do a crazy, impossible thing. My son introduced me to the Wm Hof method in hopes it may help me in my healing journey. The method is about reconnecting us to ourselves, to others and to nature. We met with Brad, the local instructor who brought us through the basic pillars: the breathing technique, cultivating the mindset and controlled exposure to cold. I hate cold. He told us there would be an optional ice bath at the end of the session. It was not mandatory. Good. I already decided I was not participating. When the instruction was done, Billy was more than ready to step in that ice bath and I was more than ready to watch. But something happened to me as I looked on. I knew he didn’t like cold either and I knew this was not easy. But Brad coached him through and he did it. He sat in the ice water up to chest and did it. Brad asked me to try just putting my hand in. It was truly a shock to my body having my hand submerged. Brad seemed satisfied with my effort and was ready to pack up when I said, “Wait, I want to try to get in.” Billy and Brad exchanged a look and then proceeded to help me in the tub. Yes, I got in, only up to my knees, but I got in. This crazy, impossible thing, although not pleasant, produced great emotion in me. I was choked up at the thought that I was stronger than I thought I was. Can this strength help me manage my illness better? What else can I do that I think I can’t?


We may think that crazy, impossible things are just for the sake of it, and maybe some of them are. But, every once in a while, you may do the crazy, impossible and receive more than you ever imagined. This three month trip, which once sounded impossible and even a bit crazy is turning out to be one of the best adventures of my life. It’s not all sunshine and seashells and there have been many life lessons along the way. I’m sure there are a few more on the way.


Maybe you won’t plunge yourself into an ice bath or run 40 miles barefoot on the beach, but I’m pretty sure you have a dream. I know I have more dreams buried somewhere inside that I will take another look at. Do I have the courage to attempt more of the crazy, impossible? I sure hope so.


“It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.” Walt Disney
21 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page