top of page

Fun! Fun! Fun! - January 28, 2023


“And she’ll have Fun, Fun, Fun ‘til her daddy takes the T-Bird away….”

I’m pretty sure you know this Beach Boys tune. Today I am reminded that life is much more than our painful circumstances. We need and want to have some FUN!


It is 5pm here in Northeast Florida and the sun is still out. This row of beachfront houses is casting their shadows on the sand. I am sitting at my computer watching the waves roll in and roll out, a glass of Newport Great White on my desk.


An old college friend sent me a link to “A Tribute to Brian Wilson” and I decided it was the perfect time to view it. This college friend was a Phi Sig from my alma mater, Central Michigan University. I deemed it perfect timing, as I had just had a visit from four of my college sorority sisters. The weeks prior, I struggled with some pretty jaw dropping pain, so this was a welcome week of memories and fun! Much needed.


"Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure."
- Psalm 16

Let’s be clear. God wants us to be happy. Sometimes the seriousness of chronic illness can make me forget this. It’s difficult to initiate it myself, so I am grateful when someone gives me a nudge.


The Beach Boys have always had a decidedly strong appeal to me. As a teenager, vacationing at the Jersey Shore in the Sixties and Seventies, my dream was to be a California Surfer Girl. I doubt I was alone in that thought. Beach Boys music became synonymous with sea, sand, sky and big dreams. And snagging a cute surfer for a boyfriend! There’s nothing more important than the big dream of a teenage heart. And this particular evening, I am warmed by those days and nights of long ago. Good memories are a balm for the soul and worth every minute of reminiscing.


As I hold the opinion that Brian Wilson is a true genius, and his music timeless, I was transported back to those carefree summer days when the only important thing was, what bathing suit I was wearing that day. When Billy Joel sang, “Don’t Worry, Baby,” the lyrics that spoke to my young self, also spoke to this Baby Boomer today. The sentiment, “Don’t Worry” or “Fear Not” are spoken 365 times in the bible. One for every day of the year. You’d think this would have sunk in for me by now. “Don’t Worry Baby” has classic lyrics that stand the test of time. “Don’t Worry baby, everything will turn out fine.” And isn’t that what God is trying to tell us?


"Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is life not more than food, and the body more than clothes?” Matthew 6:25

Many famous musicians took the stage…reminding me that I’ve got some years behind me, but also realizing they were very good years. Elton John took the stage and delivered a moving rendition of “God Only Knows.” An amazing song, beautifully written. It always tugs at my heartstrings. Paul McCartney once commented it was one of the greatest songs ever written. Despite it being a song about what it would be like to be without a loved one, the title speaks volumes. In the end it is true, only God really knows. We can trust Him implicitly.


As I gazed out my window, the sky turned pink where the sea meets sky, and a lone sailboat appeared on the horizon as Darius Rucker performed “Sail On Sailor.” I took it as a message from God; “Keep on sailing, Diane. Don’t worry, I’ve got you. I know the plans I have for you and they are good.”


Tonight, all things aligned. I have come full circle. The dream of owning a beach house that was planted in this young girl’s heart, inspired by the Beach Boys, has come to pass. I am blessed to be in that home right now, tonight, gazing at the sea out my window, listening to their music. I bask in the glory of God’s grace and goodness from whom all good things flow – including fun!



28 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page