top of page

Here Comes The Sun - March 15, 2022


We turned the clocks back over the weekend. We give up an hour of sleep, in exchange for having daylight at dinner time. I’d say it’s a good swap.


Darkness at 4pm is now a thing of the past (at least for the next 6 months) and everyone seems to be a little happier, a little nicer, a little, well, normal. Let’s face it, we hunker down all winter. We barely get out of our pajamas when we’re putting them back on again. I know mine went on as soon as the sun set. Like a switch going off; sun down, sweats on. Let’s not forget the blanket I snuggle under. And please don’t ask me to get up off the couch and get anything. I’m in for the night until I transfer myself up to bed.


It's amazing what a little outside light can do. Right now, it’s 6:30pm and I can still see the sky. I’m not remotely ready for my evening meal. It seems like I shouldn’t be eating unless it’s dark. So, I’ll do a few more things before the sun sets. In light, I have a little more energy, a little more “get up and go.” I feel like I can accomplish more, even if I don’t actually get to the bottom of my list, it feels like I can. And that’s good enough for me.


“Here comes the sun, and I say it’s alright.” -The Beatles

I was able to get outside for a 5-minute walk today, and lo and behold, I saw a person!! Yesterday I saw two or three persons. People gradually begin to come out of their caves when the days are longer. Well, the nicer weather helps as well. And by nice, I mean 45 or 50 degrees. Us northerners know that’s about as nice as its going to get in March. So, we hurry up and get outside before it disappears. We never get our hopes up too high this time of year because we know it could snow tomorrow.


Nevertheless, there’s an excitement in the air. A change is coming. It might not change tomorrow, it might not be next week, but it IS coming. We can feel it and we are excited. The days will get even longer, the mercury on the thermometer will rise and I can get rid of my cuddle duds and knee socks. 60 degrees in Florida is cause to put your jacket on. 60 degrees here is tee shirt and shorts weather. Maybe even "get your sunscreen and lay on a towel" weather.


It's that glorious time of year when I know the good stuff is right around the corner. I can hear it in the bird’s song and smell it on the breeze. And when I look at the setting sun, I can see the sweet hope that lies on the edge of each new morning.


“The day the Lord created hope is probably the same day He created Spring.” -anonymous
4 views

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page