top of page

I Leave Tomorrow! - July18, 2022


The day has finally come. I fly down to Florida tomorrow and at approximately 7:00pm, I will see my new beach house for the first time! I don’t think it will feel real until I take the key, turn it in the lock and walk in. And oh, what a moment it will be! The picture above is what I will see the first thing I wake up each day. How great is that?


This morning I am reflecting on how far I’ve come. The petrified person who could barely think of getting on a plane has now purchased a home, sight unseen, 1200 miles away. This past month I’ve sweated through making an offer and waited for it to be accepted or rejected. I’ve lived through a house inspection with ten pages of needed repairs, a remote dig up of a septic tank, and stressful negotiations with the seller. I’ve uploaded and signed over fifty digi-docs. I’ve wrestled with home, flood and hurricane insurance agents and absorbed the shock of a triple increase in property taxes, all before closing. Yes, I had a few meltdowns along the way and almost pulled out of the whole deal, but here I am, still standing.


I take no credit for any of this. It is clear God is the orchestrator of it all. He has been holding my hand and leading me through each issue. He is the God moving mountains. Exactly one year ago, we did an overnight on Cape Cod and it was the first time in six years I slept without horrendous pain in a bed other than my own. Look where God has brought me now. He’s been chipping away at my fear with each passing year. He’s been strengthening me and upholding me as He gently nudges me forward. He has not allowed me to give up on my dreams. He has provided me with a new hope and a new way to cope.


“Ah, Lord God! It is you who have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and by your outstretched arm. Nothing is too hard for you!” - Jeremiah 32:17

For years I have prayed for physical healing. I’ve always prayed for His will to be done, but I’ve also prayed for a way to cope, if it is His will that I am not healed of bodily pain. This is the prayer that has been answered. Today. And it is amazing.


Sometimes we feel that our prayers are not heard. We may feel that nothing is happening when we don’t see progress with our eyes. It’s hard to have faith in the dark. But nothing is dark to God. He is pure light and love. He’s always working on our behalf, setting things up, moving mountains, putting the right people and the right situations in our path at exactly the right time. It can take a minute or many years. We can be comforted by the fact we are in good company with those who waited –


Abraham – waited for a promise to be fulfilled

Joseph – waited in prison for a purpose

Moses – waited in the wilderness in hope of God’s promise

Job – waited through suffering

David – waited to be king at the appointed time


My prayers have not been answered in the way I thought. They seldom are. Yet, they have been answered. And as no one can limit the goodness and power of God, I am still praying for physical healing, knowing in my heart that He can absolutely answer that prayer too. For nothing is impossible with God.


“When the time is right, I, the Lord will make it happen.” -Isaiah 60:22


*For background on my health condition, (Central Sensitization Syndrome) see previous post on November 12, 2021, titled, "Three Years Ago Today." In addition to CSS, my diagnoses include Fibromyalgia, Hashimotos Thyroiditis, Severe spinal disk degeneration, bilateral hip replacement complications, small fiber neuropathy, Morton's Neuroma, Burning Mouth and Osteoporosis.




12 views

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page