top of page

I’m Back! 90 More Days at the Beach! December 11, 2023



 



It’s a beautiful, sunny, 50 degree day at the beach!  There’s no place else I’d rather be.  I missed the sea and I’m pretty sure it missed me too!  After all, there is not a soul on the beach today but me, and the shorebirds are happy I'm keeping them company. I suspect Floridians consider this weather to be an arctic freeze.  I threw my jacket on, popped up the hood and went for a long, solitary walk.  This stretch of AIA has one beach house after another, all the way down to the bridge that takes you to St. Augustine.  And it is all mine today, wrapping me up in sunshine and welcoming me home.

 

I flew down last Wednesday and all praise and glory goes to God for an uneventful and tolerable trip to Logan Airport, plane ride to Jacksonville and 50 minute drive to the house. As usual, I experienced a small amount of pre-voyage anxiety, wondering how the pain level would affect me.  Last year, my sister had to talk me down off the ledge on the day I was leaving. This year, I didn’t need that.  I’ve come a long way, baby!  Sometimes, we have to just pat ourselves on the back and recognize how far we’ve come. 

 

I don’t know what the next 90 days holds for me.  What I do know, is that we are waiting for a permit to fix our failed septic system.  It’s a huge job.  Palm trees must come down and the driveway must be drilled up.  It won’t be pretty.  Inside, there are other things to be fixed, you know, the things our rental guests have damaged.  It’s been 9 months since we’ve set foot in the house, and let me tell you, a lot happens in 9 months!  More on that later.

 

I also know I will be having company.  More company than I had last year.  Will I be up for it?

I’m gonna say, “Yes,” and not give into the little voice that says, “You cannot have all these people here.  You cannot deal with that.”  That voice belongs to 2022 Diane, not 2023-24 Diane.  I’m choosing to look forward to each and every friend and family member who has planned to come.  Whenever those negative feelings come upon me, I remind myself why I have this beach house.  What would I be doing in New Hampshire this winter, besides freezing?  I would most definitely NOT have lots of company coming.  I would not be looking at the ocean every day.  I would not be seeing my son and I would not hear the waves as I drift off to sleep. 

 

I am blessed.

 

"If you then, being evil, (sinful by nature) know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!"  - Matthew 7:11
 

He has truly given me good gifts!  Let the journey begin!

 

 

12 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page