top of page

Is It Fourth of July or Thanksgiving? - November 27, 2021


This year, cold Thanksgivings and I broke up. This is the first time I’ve spent Thanksgiving Day where I wasn’t freezing. When we booked this condo and realized we’d be gone for Turkey Day, I had misgivings. I’d be breaking with many years of tradition. I knew it wouldn’t be the same; no fire in the fireplace, no getting together with my siblings and their families, no feeling of an approaching New England Christmas in the air. And no power outages! (Shout out to the 2008 ice storm!)


It certainly isn’t the same. This afternoon I went shell hunting on the beach in my shorts and tee shirt with the sun on my face, as I let the warm ocean water trickle over my feet. Although I miss my family, I am with my son and that’s been a blessing. Seventy degrees and the beach? A definite bonus. I don’t think cold Thanksgiving and I will be getting back together anytime soon.


It is somewhat of a strange feeling seeing holiday wreaths on the light posts at Publix and Target and white lights wrapped around palm trees. I can’t seem to make the transition yet. It still feels like summer to me. At six thirty (yikes!) this morning, I strolled down to the boardwalk so my Canon camera could capture the bright orange and pink striped sunrise. On the way, I passed a balcony with multi-colored Christmas lights and thought, “Oh, that’s right, Christmas is coming.” The lights seemed awkwardly out of place but reminded me that my holidays are different this year. I like the change, strange as it is, and know that beautiful things will come from ditching the “same old, same old.”


Later tonight as we were lounging in the living room, we heard loud popping noises outside. We opened the sliders, went out on the deck and viewed our neighbors full fledged fireworks show. Red, white, green, yellow and pink sparkling bursts exploded in the night sky over the dark, rolling waves. These weren’t like mini fireworks set on your street by an over enthusiastic dad or excited teenager. This was a light up the sky kind of display that rivaled our hometown July 4th event. Well, minus all the cars and general mayhem.


As I watched the twinkling lights of the fishing boats against the horizon and the last fire flower sparkled and fizzed, I decided I was ready to get out the few decorations we brought and put them up. Who knew a fireworks show would get me in the Christmas mood? Things aren’t the same here. And that’s just the way I like it.


"Baby, you're a firework, come on let your colors burst."
-Katy Perry
12 views

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page