top of page

Keep Looking Up! - April 26, 2022


There are so many things in life that can get us down. For those of us suffering with health problems, every day can seem like a down day. Even the word down has a negative connotation. The chips are down, I’ve shut down, feel run down and tied down. And worst of all, things are going down the drain.


I read that it takes the same amount of energy to worry and feel down as it does to be positive. So why do I continually use some of my precious energy to worry? Is it wired into my humanness? I suppose it is. But I know I have the choice to decide to flip the “downs into ups.” Harder to do when the downs keep gnawing at me like a relentless jackhammer pounding away. I’m tired of living in the land of defensiveness, wondering what next bodily affliction will rear its ugly head.


Living with persistent pain*, at some point, requires a big decision. Who will win, the downs or the ups? As Kate Bowler says in her book, "No Cure for Being Human, "


“Well, sh.., I guess life is going to need more courage than I thought.”

It’s true I need courage. It’s also clear I need help if I want the “ups” to win. Good thing there is help available. My help comes from Jesus who was very clear when he told us, “So do not fear, I am with you; do not be dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” -Isaiah 41:10


They say that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle. I’d like to amend that line by adding to the end of it, “as long as you turn to Him for help. I do think we often get more than we can handle. That’s where our Lord and Savior comes in. We were never asked or expected to carry our burdens alone. He is "..refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble." -Psalm 9:9


He is the one I can look up to. He is the one who can take the “put down, run down and down to the wire” and turn them into cheer up, ease up, build up and keep looking up.



I lift up my eyes to the hills-- where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. Indeed, He who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. -Psalm 121:1

May we forever and always, Keep Looking Up!




*For background on my health condition, (Central Sensitization Syndrome) see previous post on November 12, 2021, titled, "Three Years Ago Today." In addition to CSS, my diagnoses include Fibromyalgia, Hashimotos Thyroiditis, Severe spinal disk degeneration, Bilateral hip replacement complications, Small fiber neuropathy, Morton's Neuroma, Burning Mouth and Osteoporosis.


8 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page