top of page

Magic Beach Motel - December 1, 2021


Happy December! It’s 70 degrees and I’m ecstatic. It was a beautiful day to take a drive down to the kitschy little town of Vilano Beach. I considered whether my feet would cooperate, especially my gas pedal foot but then I remembered going down there once before. No traffic lights. Not a one, in the entire 14.6 mile drive. I wouldn’t have to press my foot up and down through all the stops and starts. I grabbed my camera and a bottle of water and took off.


I turned left out of my community and headed south on the Coastal Highway; marsh on the right, ocean on the left, the sunshine beating through my windshield. Is there anything better than this? On the way down I ogled the colorful and staggering oceanfront mansions. It boggles the mind that people actually live in these. I still haven’t figured out the necessity of 10 bedrooms and 10 bathrooms if it’s not a hotel. As I ride down the road with my sunroof open, listening to “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” I realize there has not been a single car in my rearview mirror for miles. This is my kind of road. An image comes to mind of Andy Dufresne cruising the coast, top down, in his red convertible on a lonely stretch of highway to Zihuantanejo, Mexico. Finally, not a care in the world.


“Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy. -Guillaume Apollinaire

Less than twenty minutes later I arrive at the one stoplight in town. You can take a right to go over the bridge into St. Augustine or continue straight for a block. This is a small, kick back, fifties vibe town. There are a few surfers getting in wet suits and some local fisherman on the pier. No tourists. (Except maybe me, but I’m a part time resident now, so no tourists.) The parking is minimal for a beach town and it’s so quiet that most of the spots are empty. I pull in one and walk into the one gift shop which is next to the one surf shop. I strike up a conversation with the saleswoman as I am, shockingly, the only customer. Turns out she is from Henniker, New Hampshire so we discuss our home state for a few minutes and complain about the awful winters. We agree we are lucky not to be there right now. I pay way too much money for a great seashell puzzle but hey, I must support my Granite State sister. She gave me what I’m pretty sure was a made on the spot thing, the “New Hampshire discount.” I thanked her and asked if she had any recommendations for good photo ops and she gave me a few tips.



“Go to the Magic Beach Motel,” she said. “It’s all lit up at night but only for the next two weeks as it will be taken down.” Taken down? “Yes,” she said, “Its’ being sold.” Further research told me the owners are battling some health issues and have decided to sell. A developer will be building a resort with 200 high end hotel rooms. I am saddened that this iconic building will soon be gone. The motel was across the street, so I walked over to take a look. The art deco building is a flashback to sock hops and saddle shoes. It’s no wonder, it was built in 1951. This vintage motel was featured in the 1990s television show called “Safe Harbor” with Gregory Harrison and Rue McClanahan. I vaguely remember watching a few episodes. Single dad with kids living at his mom’s motel. A real throwback kind of show. I miss those.


The nostalgic building is adorned with pink flamingos on its stucco walls and features glass block windows and bright colors. The impressive arched sign features a magician’s hat, hopping rabbits and neon lights, all framed by soaring palm trees. I stand in front of it, next to the small kidney shaped pool and am transported back to the days of Frankie Avalon and Annette Funicello in “Beach Blanket Bingo.” I imagine I might see Gidget emerge from Room 107 with her surfboard, heading down to the beach to meet Moondoggie. Please tell me if you’re reading this, you’re not too young to pick up on my references!


There was something about those long ago days. Were they really that carefree or did they just seem that way? It doesn’t really matter. What matters is the way they made me feel. Like life is a breeze. Problems are simple and few. Anything’s possible, and my future is wide open.


Today, I got that feeling again. Standing in front of the Magic Beach Motel.


We all have our “good old days” tucked away inside our hearts, and we return to them in daydreams like cats to favorite armchairs. – Brian Carter

On the drive home as I reminisced, my body told me I was going to pay for this little jaunt, but that's okay with me. And although I never want to get stuck in the past, it's sure nice to pay it a visit once in a while.




21 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page