top of page

FL/GA Weekend -October 29 2021


An unremarkable sunrise this morning. I wasn’t sure that was possible. I’ve told the sun it’s okay. For today. But I expect spectacular to return tomorrow!


My body decided to give me hives today. I was feeling very itchy the past two days but I tried to ignore it. It wouldn’t be ignored. I haven’t been this way for a while and I’m always hopeful that it won’t return, but here it is. It’s not just the hives, it’s the accompanying all over body stinging and itching skin, that rebels when I put on clothes. When I tell people my clothes hurt, they tilt their heads and give me a “what?” expression. This is why I love cotton, loose cotton, pima cotton and anything soft, flowy and loose. Most of the time this translates into summer wear, which is partly why I love summer. Less clothes.


I decided to go out. Distraction is a powerful tool. I found a store I wanted to try so I began my drive up A1A. A third of the way there, I am in bumper to bumper traffic. My right foot hates this, foot on the pedal, foot off the pedal and on and on. Foot pain and burning are not fun but I push through and hope the traffic will cooperate. I wonder if this is just usual traffic here or if it has something to do with the Florida/Georgia game happening tomorrow. I read that 65,000 extra people are expected to descend upon the area. Even though the game is in Jacksonville and we are at the beaches, I’m sure many of the 65, 000 are renting accommodations out here. I think about turning around but it took a lot of willpower to get me in the car, so I am staying. I have some frame of reference for avid football fans, having spent my high school and college years in Michigan, the king state of Big 10 schools, especially the Michigan State/Ohio State rivalry. Michigan and Michigan State rivalries with each other, and Ohio State, rank among the Top 5 football rivalries of all time. Add that to my years in New Hampshire where the New England Patriots rule. I’ve seen my share of football fanatics. Georgia/Florida game in Jacksonville? They call it the “World’s Largest Outdoor Cocktail Party. Ok, I’ll give it up for the Gators and Bulldogs. They know how to party.


After about 30 minutes, I approach my destination, and am faced with a closed and boarded up store. Well, okay. I feel good anyway because I have just made this long drive, in a lot of traffic, in a place that’s not home and for longer than I usually drive when I am at home. Kudos to me. On the way back, I find a cute beachy store that I stop in as well as the local Marshalls. If it is hard to understand why this is such an accomplishment, those of us who live with chronic pain are often unable to do these types of “normal” activities on a daily basis. The simple act of driving, or making it to the grocery store is cause for celebration. So today, I am celebrating.


17 views

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page