top of page

Please Don’t Call Me Ma’am – November 24, 2021


It’s a southern thing, being called Ma’am and Sir. At first, I thought, please don’t call me Ma’am. It makes me feel old. It can sound a bit cheesy. Recently, at the Dollar Tree paying for my items, the cashier gave me change from my five-dollar bill and I said, “Thank you.” To which she replied, “Yes, Ma’am.” We went to Target for house supplies and asked a staff member where the carts were. After he pointed them out and Paul said, “Thank you,” we heard, “Yes, sir.” Even on the phone with our rental agent, after every question I ask, I get a “Yes, Ma’am.” I think Amber said it 14 times in my last call to her. At the time, I thought it was a tad overboard.


We’re here more than six weeks now and I must admit, I’m getting used to it. We love the Publix grocery store, and they ought to love us, as we shop there about three times a week. They are masters of the Yes, Ma’ams and Yes, Sirs. In fact, they don’t even wait for you to ask a question. If they see you hanging around, like I do at the bakery counter, they come right over and say, “Can I help you with anything Ma’am?” Wow! When I’m back home, I’m lucky if I can find a staff person in any store to help me. The ones in Wal Mart are non-existent or they run away when they see me approaching. Sometimes they page someone for me and no one ever comes.


Publix takes customer service very seriously. As you start loading your items on the conveyor you hear, “How are you today Ma’am? Did you find everything you need?” After checking out, they ask, “Would you like us to take your groceries to your car Ma’am?” Sometimes, I sit on the bench near the registers while Paul is checking out and even then, they turn to me and say, “How are you today, Ma’am?” They are so darn polite and friendly; I’m moved to buy even more stuff than I need. I hear myself saying, “Sure, I’ll take a key lime pie, and throw in a six pack of cupcakes too.” Occasionally if they really, really want to be super nice, you will get a “Well” in front of the “Yes, Ma’am” and there is a distinct elongated drawl emphasizing the word Ma’am where it kind of goes up an octave. “ Well, yes, ma’am!” (in your best southern accent.)


"Southerners can get more tone in a vowel than any Italian opera singer." - anonymous

Perhaps it’s just how they talk. I prefer to think of it as a wonderfully lost art - going out of your way to be nice and being overly happy when you’re doing it. It’s truly refreshing. In a world where we often keep to ourselves and leave others to just do their own thing, who knew I could go to the grocery store to feel a little special? I call it southern hospitality and I like it.


When I get home and go to Shaw’s or Hannaford Grocery and ask if there are any roaster chickens left, I will miss hearing, “Well, yes, Ma’am, right over here. Is there anything else I can help you with Ma’am?”


9 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page