top of page

Beachside Swimwear - Saturday, October 16


This store was on my radar before I even got here. It’s your typical beach store with sunglasses, towels, hats and swimsuits. But, not any swimsuits. Swimsuits for women of a certain age, nice ones. You know, not string bikinis that have less material than a handkerchief. These suits are brand name, sought after suits that actually fit and look good on someone over 50. We don’t have these stores in New Hampshire. I’m not even sure there’s one in all of New England. Maybe even the whole Northeast. Ladies, if you are like me, you are absolutely not going to order a swimsuit online. That is a nightmare waiting to happen. So then where do we go? We may have a chance at local department store, but only in February or March when the suits first hit the store. After that, they are gone. Or all that’s left are size 0 or size XXL. Lucky for you if that’s your size. It is a special kind of torture to try on suits when its 20 degrees out and there’s snow on the ground. So yes, this place was like the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.


In I went, and automatically a nice woman approached me and asked if I wanted help. I was not left to flip through the racks of suits, tankinis, bikinis, swim skirts, swim shorts, one pieces, chlorine proof, those on sale and those not. She then informed me that there was an end of the season sale. Buy one, get one half off. I didn’t need that incentive to buy more than one, but it certainly tipped the scales. In my first trip to the dressing room I took only tankini tops. The saleswoman appropriately suggested I find the top first and then we would match the bottom. Eight tops later, I found four that fit. Each time I put one on, I stepped outside the room and the three young dressing room assistants gave me their opinions. “ I like that one but the pink one looks better on you.” That one fits well, but the white color in it washes you out.” Can I take these girls home with me and bring them to the next swimsuit store I go to?


After choosing the best two, the pink and green floral and the cerulean blue floral, I continued my hunt, now for the bottoms to match. For anyone who thinks trying on suits is a fun excursion, let me put those sentiments to rest. The pulling, the tugging, the bending, the getting one on, then taking it off, over and over is an exhausting marathon. Halfway through I wanted to give up and come back another day but I couldn’t stand the thought of starting the process all over again. And when I came back, would they have my size and color? No, too risky. I better stay and see it through.


When it was all said and done, I did end up with two complete suits. Whew! Mission accomplished. Two hours later, my husband picked me up. He asked what took so long and did I have fun. Really? Let’s consider this; if he went in for swim trunks, he’d try on the gray or the blue in his size and ten minutes later would walk out with one. I told him I should get a medal for what I had just done. My cardio routine did not have to be done today as I had just done enough for four days! The day after, I was reaching for the Tylenol bottle.

12 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page