top of page

Turtles, A Rockefeller and B.B. King - December 14, 2021


In early November I convinced Paul to take a day off. It wasn’t one of my better days but since he had the time, we took an excursion to one of the Golden Isles. It takes a bit of planning to get me out for the day, but I will do what I have to do, to get where I want to go! If that means I bring three pair of shoes to alternate so my feet can cope, car cushions to soften the ride, or plan stop points along the way, so be it. My husband jokes that going out for the day with me looks like we’re going away for a week. I am finding new ways to be able to do things I thought I couldn’t. It doesn’t always work out, but I have never once said, “I’m sorry I tried.” I just could not pass up a trip to see the Sea Turtle Center on Jekyll Island, Georgia.


At the center, they rehabilitate turtles that have been hurt. This day, there were three turtles in their care: Margoi, Bandit and Genie. They each had their own large pool to swim in, and an attentive staff to care for them. I stood patiently at the railing with my camera, trying to get Margoi to pose for me but she wasn’t cooperating. This posted picture was the best I could do. Her patient profile indicates she is from Jacksonville and is slightly over 200 pounds. This is one big turtle! She arrived with leeches, contributing to anemia. She had wounds on both flippers and a possible abscess or tumor on the right one. The treatment plan stated fluid therapy, antibiotics and pain management. As a veteran of pain management programs, my heart ached for her. Who knew I had something in common with a sea turtle?


Bandit was the victim of a boat strike on St. Simons Island and Genie had a skull fracture. At 128 pounds, Genie was also being treated for weight gain. Oh, how nice would it be to need to gain weight on top of your 128 pounds! It was unclear how long rehabilitation of the turtles lasted. Depending on their injuries, some will be released into the waters again, yet some injuries are too great and would necessitate going to zoo or an aquarium as in Bandit’s case, due to his spinal cord damage. In my past snorkeling adventures on various Caribbean islands, one of my favorite experiences was to follow sea turtles as I swam. It never occurred to me just how vulnerable they really are.


After leaving the center, we grabbed the island map and tried to figure out where we were going. The entire island is a Georgia State Park and is rich in history. In the late 1800s, Jekyll Island became an exclusive hunting club for families with names like Rockefeller, Morgan, Vanderbilt, Pulitzer, and Baker. There are “cottages” along Riverview drive called “millionaires’ row” that are really mansions of the rich and famous. One of them has 20 bedrooms and 17 bathrooms! Enough to throw an epic party! These homes and the Faith Chapel are in the Historic Center. Come the summer of 1959 at the Dolphin Club, the elite danced to the likes of Otis Redding, B.B. King and Percy Sledge. I bet they rocked this little island!


"Jekyll Island, Georgia is where you can get a taste of Gilded Age Glory” – Travel and Leisure

As we drove around the island, we found The Wanderer Memorial Trail. Located at St. Andrews Beach Park, it tells the story of a young African boy named Umwalla who was part of one of the last known groups of enslaved Africans sold into captivity to America on the ship called The Wanderer in 1858. It was America’s last known slave ship. Disappointingly, we were unable to take the entire journey as the strong storm the previous weekend had made most of the trail unwalkable. Umwalla’s story was heartbreaking and left its mark on me. Today, the memorial has a UNESCO “Site of Memory” designation.



Have you ever heard of a tabby house? The Horton House on Riverview Drive is just such a place, now on the Register of National Historic Places and one of the oldest buildings in the state of Gorgia. Built in 1743 by General William Horton, it’s composed of lime from burned oyster shells mixed with sand, water, ash and other shells and commonly referred to as “Coastal Concrete.” The house, a mere shell of a structure, fascinated me and I tried to picture what it was like to live there. Kind of gave me a swift kick in the pants when I thought of how much I enjoy indoor plumbing and running water.


Overall, our day on Jekyll Island was pretty idyllic. It felt like a walk back in time to the days when ladies wore bonnets, men tipped their hats and people walked on foot to the general store. I was surprised at how quiet this golden isle was on warm sunny day in early November. Not many cars, no traffic, and a definite lack of tourists.


I suspect that’s just the way they like it.


10 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


conch in sand closeup.JPG

We are like seashells upon the beach - beautiful and unique, each with a story of its own to tell.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page